Das Mahavidya

dus mahavidya tantra sadhana

Das Mahavidya

The Das Mahavidyas or the Ten Goddesses are actually ten aspects of the shakti or Devi the Divine Goddess. Here dus means ten and “mahavidya”, comes from the root of sanskrit words Maha and vidya in which maha means great and vidya means education that results in understanding and the spread of knowledge, enlightening or astonishing disclosure, nirvana.
The Mahavidyas, as a group, represents a vital turning point in the history of Shaktism, as it marks the rise of tantra in Shaktism during the post-Puranic era. The Srimad Devi Bhagavatam also known as Devi Purana in its seventhskandha known as the Devi Gita describes shakti power. This discription of shakti powers became the key component of Shaktism.

Das Mahavidya Puja

Das Mahavidya known as ten forms of incarnation of goddess parvati having great influence, worshipped in tantrik forms by sadhaks. Vamtantra conducts Dusmahavidya tantrik puja to appease all ten Goddesses of accumulated knowledge, erudition or enlightenment and who represent an entire spectrum of divinity. Das Mahavidya puja is also conducted to solve unique problems and astrological planetary disturbances.

Das Mahavidyas Tantra Sadhana

Out of many of the tantrik puja, rituals and sadhnas, the worshipping & showing devotion to the ten powerful forms of tantra goddesses is called the Dasa Mahavidya. Various yantra and mantra recitation are prescribed for their worship by the tantriks to attain various types of sidhis and for spiritual enlightenment. These Das Mahavidya shaktis are very powerful but involves danger or risk and their tantrik puja according to vamtantra must be done under the guidance of a the spiritual tantrik guru only. Successful completion of Das Mahavidya tantrik puja & sadhana gives blessings and a desirable state to the sadhak. A tantrik guru who is positively inclined uses these benefits as a guide to motivate people for the benefit of mankind.

Dusmahavidya – ten forms of tantra devi

The major forms of the goddess as described in Tantra text are Kali, Tara, Maha Tripura Sundari (or Shodasi-Sri Vidya), Bhuvaneshvari, Chinnamasta, Bhairavi, Dhumavati, Bagalamukhi, Matangi, and Kamala. These ten aspects of Shakti are the image of the entire creation.
These ten profound acquisitions are the most valuable wealth of the Sadhaks which give them accomplishments having no limits or boundaries in time or space or extent or magnitude and also are capable of introducing the infinity to them. These tantra Devis are worshiped with prescribed tantrik rituals and procedures associated with mantra and yantra as a remedy for various astrological measures, attaining siddhis and for spiritual enlightenment.

Dusmahavidya in awakening of kundalini

Kundalini yoga is a spiritual practice and as such spirituality is contagious. Mantra is chanted(vibrated) to assure the purest inner guidance during the practice of kundalini yoga. When we chant a mantra we are choosing to envoke the positive power contained in the mind, whether it is for prosperity, peace of mind, increasing intuition, or any other multitude of possible benefits inherent in mantras. The selected mantra corresponds to the area of different chakras or the spiritual centers within the body. Chanting of the selected mantra sets vibrations into motion which shall have an effect related to the individual chakra.

Das Mahavidya Puja Astrological Significance

The Das Mahavidya worship is also an remedial astrological measure for the nine planetary positions. Puja of each individual shakti powers mitigate the problem caused by the individual retrograde or malefic planetary position in an horoscope. The various shakti powers as per the planets are kali for Saturn, Tara for Jupiter, Maha Tripura Sundari (or Shodasi-Sri Vidya) for Mercury, Bhuvaneshvari for Moon, Chinnamasta for Rahu, Bhairavi for Lagna, Dhumavati for Ketu, Bagalamukhi for Mars, Matangi for Sun, and Kamala for Venus.

Shatkarma Tantric Prayog By Das Mahavidya

The biggest benefit in tantric anusthan of Das Mahavidya poojan conducted by vamtantra sadhaks is to obtain the success in the various forms of shatkarma tantrik prayog(Shantikaran, Vashikaran, Uchatan, Videshan, Stambhan etc).

Das mahavidya – Protection from unique problems

The Das Mahavidya shakti power tantrik puja is specifically performed to solve certain unique problems which cannot be resolved by normal puja’s

  • Kali: saved from the dangerous calamities. more details
  • Tara: speech, pleasures and even salvation. more details
  • Maha Tripura Sundari (or Shodasi-Sri Vidya): get better spouse and sexual life. more details
  • Bhuvaneshvari:For property (house and office). more details
  • Chinnamastika: Worshipped for Courage, Discement, Sexual energry. more details
  • Bhairavi: Worshipped for birth of child, Family Happiness,Peace at home,Peace of Mind. more details
  • Dhumavati: tragedy, disease, poverty. more details
  • Baglamukhi: victory on legal case, victory over enemies. more details
  • Matangi: vocalization and articulation. more details
  • Kamala: For wealth and prosperity. more details

The Guhyatiguyha-tantra gives an account of the Mahavidyas & associates it with Vishnu’s ten avatars. It also reveals that the Mahavidyas are the origin from which the avatars of Vishnu made an appearance.

Mahavidya Shloka

“Kali Tara Mahavidya Shodashi
Bhuwaneshwari, Bhairawi
Chinnmasta ch Vidya Dhumawati
tatha. Bagla Siddhividya ch Matangi
Kamlatmika, Ayeta Dusmahavidya
Siddhividyah Prakirtitah.”