The word Navaratri means ‘nine nights’ in Sanskrit, nava meaning nine and ratri meaning nights. Tantra is the basis of all streams of spirituality. During these nine nights and ten days, nine forms of Shakti are worshiped as per vedic and tantric rituals. Navaratri or Navadurga Parva happens to be the most propitious period of spiritual sadhanas and worship of Shakti in tantric form. You are viewing information on Navratri at Under the guidance of tantric guru the sadhaks learn special tantric rituals to gain spiritual energy.
Goddess Shakti is worshipped and adored in the nine forms i.e Maa Shailputri, Maa Brahmachaarini, Maa Chandraghanta, Maa Kushmaanda, Skanda Maa, Maa Kaatyayani, Maa Kaalratri, Maa Mahagauri and Maa Sidhidaarti.

Significance of Navratri – Why to Celebrate Navratri?

Specific sadhanas and upasanas of the Shakti Mantra are practiced by vamtantra tantra sadhaks under the guidance of tantra guru with full faith and devotion during the propitious period of Navaratri. This period holds a special importance in following ways

  • We worship the divine power to confer upon us positive energies to hold and preseve our mind, body and soul energies.
  • Shakti sadhana and prayers during this period will bestow wealth, auspiciousness, prosperity, knowledge, and other potent powers to cross every hurdle of life.
  • Tantra sadhana with ardent love and devotion destroys all our impurities, vices and defects and builds spiritual energy.
  • Observing fast and following strict rituals during these nine days builds immunity from all kinds of diseases and enhances vital energy. etc

How many times Navratri is Celebrated

Navaratri Puja is performed 5 times a year by vamtantra sadhaks. They are Magh Navratri, Vasanta/chaitra Navaratri, Ashadha Navaratri, the Sharad/Ashwin Navaratri and Sakambari/Paush Navratri. You are viewing information on Navratri at Out of these five auspicious navratri only two are observed by individuals. Rest three navratris are only carried out by tantra sadhaks.

Magh Navratri: This Navratri comes in January/Febuary. Magha Navaratri, also referred as Gupta Navaratri, is nine days dedicated to the nine forms of Shakti (Mother Goddess) in the month of Magha (January–February). These Navratras are generally observed by Tantra sadhaks for shakti sadhana. Magha Navaratri is observed during the Magha Shukla Paksha (waxing phase of moon). Those who are born under magha nakshatra or who are gandmool due to asc magha nakshatra are specially benefitted by doing magh navratri puja. Click to know more about magh navratri at vamtantra.

Chaitra Navratri: This Navratri comes in March/April. Chaitra Navratri marks the beginning of summer season. As Mother Earth goes through a significant climatic changes, these navratras are also known as Basant or Spring Navratri. Special shakti puja’s and tantric kriya’s are carried out. On the ashtami of chaitra navratri tara jayanti is celebrated. You are viewing information on Navratri at Apart from this bhishmashtami puja is carried out to build up good character of your child. On navami birthday of lord Rama is celebrated which is also known as Ram Navami. Click to know more about chaitra navratri at vamtantra.

Ashadh Navratri: This Navratri comes in June/July. This Gupt navratri is very prominent for tantra sadhana. Apart from shakti sadhana the sadhaks also carry out yakshini sadhana. The best period of yakshini sadhana starts from this navratri and continues upto ashwin navratri. Click to know more about ashada navratri at vamtantra.

Ashwin Navratri: Also known as Sharad navratri. This Navratri comes in September/October. During these navratri’s shakti is worshipped in ferocious form. This period is utilised by vamtantra sadhaks to perform certain tantric rituals for giving protection and relief to specially those suffering from black magic, evil spells, jadu tomna kiya karaya for along period. Click to know more about ashwin navratri at vamtantra.

Paush Navratri: Also known as Sakambari Navratri. This Navratri comes in December/ January. Unlike other two gupt navratri’s general public is still not familar with sakambari navratri. This navratri is observed by only dikshit tantra sadhaks. This navratri has got great significane for nature. Sadhaks keep fast the whole day and after sunset they take special and restricted diet which is different from rest of navratra’s. You are viewing information on Navratri at Where all the other navratri are commences from pratipada tithe and end on dashami tithe this sakambari navratri is observed from ashtami to purnima. On the last day which is purnima sakambari jayanti is celebrated.

Navratri Dates in year 2015

Magh Navratri or Shishir Navratri Dates – From 21st January to 29th Jan 2015.

Chaitra Navratri or Vasant Navratri Dates – From 21st March to 29th March 2015

Ashadh Navratri or Grishm Navratri Dates – From 17th July to 26th July 2015

Ashwin Navratri or sharad navratri Dates

– From 13th oct to 23rd october 2015

Paush or Sakambari Navratri Dates – From 17th jan to 23rd jan 2016